What's new

Fillet on Extruded Text

Thanks for looking at this! I'm just learning on the Trial Version of Atom3D. Coming from Sketchup 2017 and trying to find a viable replacement. I think I have.

Working through a simple design for a branding iron logo, I've extruded some text from a flat plane part. Then it occurred to me that the text could benefit from support at the base.

So, I'm thinking that I should have the base edge/corner of each letter be filleted to add strength in that area. I tried one letter on a test part, selected the many edges that meet the base after an extrude of the letter. Well, it looks like Atom3D choked on the complexity or something. Obviously, that isn't a viable way to fillet all my letters.

Since I'm just starting to learn the ropes, am I missing a simple method to create a fillet around the base of each letter that I extrude from a part plane?

HaroldL

Alibre Super User
You could just select the surface that the text is created on. The fillet tool will try to fill all edges on that surface. Be careful though as sometimes the fillet needs a rounded corner in order to work out its transitions. So you may need to fillet the edges that are perpendicular to the surface first. Doing that may make it possible to select an edge and let the Tangency function work its magic.

Selecting the part surface didn't complete. The process ended with an error message of too many something-or-others.

I thought maybe to "loft" the text instead of extrude, but that dialog is beyond my comprehension.

Max

Administrator
Staff member
Selecting the part surface didn't complete. The process ended with an error message of too many something-or-others.

I thought maybe to "loft" the text instead of extrude, but that dialog is beyond my comprehension.

Welcome to Alibre!