What's new

Problems with Lofting

Leethal

This is my first attempt at lofting. I'm trying to make a curved cover over this tail section. I only have the two drawings labelled front and rear to attempt to loft between. The rear was only a guess at what it could look like. I'm currently getting the error "Guide curve does not start and stop on the first and last profile respectively"
Can someone tell me if I need to add more drawings for the loft or am I doing something incorrectly

Attachments

• Rear Section.AD_PRT
    637.5 KB · Views: 16

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
As the message suggests - guide curves (you'll need more than one in this case) must have ends EXACTLY on the loft profiles.

Consider using either 'project to sketch' to pick up from existing geometry, or place Points in the profiles that you can use to attach ends of guide curves to.

Lofts are probably the trickiest thing to do in Alibre, there are lots of ways they can fail.

Your loft works if done without guide curves - so you need to work on guide curves. I trimmed your guide curve so it ran only between the 2 profiles down one side of the model. Had to extend slightly at the large end and trim back at the small end. That worked. I then added a similar curve on the other side, was better (that using guide curves as 'local') - it would be even better with extra guide curves for the inside.

Leethal

As the message suggests - guide curves (you'll need more than one in this case) must have ends EXACTLY on the loft profiles.

Consider using either 'project to sketch' to pick up from existing geometry, or place Points in the profiles that you can use to attach ends of guide curves to.

Lofts are probably the trickiest thing to do in Alibre, there are lots of ways they can fail.