What's new

Trying to edit an imported step file

John-Amos

Hi everyone, I am pretty new to using alibre. I imported this step file from grabcad and I am trying to make it shorter/longer but I cannot figure out how to do it. After googling and looking at videos where push/pull is mentioned I still cannot seem to shorten/lengthen anything since those videos are so old. Can someone show me how to shorten and lengthen this coupling please.

I am already having tons of headaches with assembly.

Thanks

Attachments

• Coupling Nut.STEP
    117.6 KB · Views: 10

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
There's something odd about those 'fillets' at ends of the nut. 'Remove Face' on those fillets would usually leave a 'squared off' end (which could then be pushed/pulled) - but with that file it leaves holes in the model.

It might well be faster to just take some measurements from the file and then re-model at your desired length.

stepalibre

Alibre Super User
Hello @John-Amos here's an approach to this type of problem:
1713173212514.png
1713173275498.png
Everything can be parameterized. This approach is very useful for more complex models, but the concept is flexible.

Attachments

• Coupling Nut-steph.AD_PRT
    556 KB · Views: 4

stepalibre

Alibre Super User
Mcmaster might have your size unless this is custom:
They have CAD files:
1713173757529.png

Stu3d

I saved the step as an Alibre part then tried an extrude cut to remove one end, use Move Face to alter the length, Save As the part at different lengths and then do a Boolean Unite. The result had faces missing so there maybe something odd about the step?
Not sure if you have Boolean, ideally the version of Alibre you are using would be in your signature.
Screenshot 2024-04-15 103442.png

stepalibre

Alibre Super User