What's new

Add Curves and Notches to a Non-Planar Face

MacNichol

Hello,

I am new to CAD/CAM. I may have some of the terminology incorrect, but have done my best to describe.

I am looking to make a small stock item, which is an acoustic guitar saddle. Please see the below the attached images, 1 Waves.png and 2. jpeg, which include red arrows showing the waves/notches I refer to later.

I’ve been able to do almost all the above CAD, plus fillet the top radiused section in Alibre Atom 3D, but don’t see a way to add the waves onto the top section. Please see the attached 1 Alibre Atom.AD_PRT for my Alibre Atom file.

I found the attached step file at GrabCAD, which is very similar to what I'm trying to do. I was able to open the .step file in Alibre, but when I click on the notches, Alibre says that it's a non-planar face and thus unable to edit.

Could you please point me in the right direction on how to do these waves/notches?

Any other suggestions welcome, too.

Many thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 1 Waves.png
    1 Waves.png
    11.7 KB · Views: 17
  • 2.jpeg
    2.jpeg
    6.9 KB · Views: 18
  • Compensated Saddle v2.step
    90.9 KB · Views: 6

Ken226

Alibre Super User
You'll have to create some workplanes in various locations and at various angles to make the necessary extrude cuts.

One example: I create an angled plane
1658712935818.png

Then offset that plane in the Y positive direction to a point above your model.

1658713036961.png

Then you can create the desired sketch geometry on that plane, and extrude cut into your model.

1658713133989.png

1658713197448.png

As for the waves, I'm still not sure what you are talking about.

Ken226

Alibre Super User
For the waves, is something like this what you had in mind. A modification to your original sketch?

1658713916619.png

Then added some filets to soften the edges, blending into tangencies.

1658713997696.png