What's new

Alibre Design API == Alibre Xpress API?

alexfranke

Alibre Design API == Alibre Xpress API?

Hi all,

I "converted" to Alibre a few weeks ago, and as a software engineer I was immediately compelled to tinker with the API and write an app that would make one aspect of modeling for my hobby (woodworking) easier. So I wrote a "Dovetail Jig" to greatly simplify the modeling of dovetail joints. (If there's interest in this specifically, I included a link to the tutorial and download information at the bottom of this post.)

What I'm wondering about here is an assumption that I made: Is it safe to assume that an app written to the Alibre API that works fine with Alibre Xpress should also work fine with Alibre Design? From what I've read here I'd say "yes" but I'm interested if anyone knows for sure...

Thanks,
Alex

Oh -- the app and tutorial I mentioned above can be found here:
http://plans.thefrankes.com/Tutorials/DovetailJig

(Pardon the incomplete website. I'm in the middle of moving a bunch of stuff to its new home at that domain and with a toddler in the house, free time is pretty limited! =)

rbrian

Re: Alibre Design API == Alibre Xpress API?

alexfranke said:
Oh -- the app and tutorial I mentioned above can be found here: http://plans.thefrankes.com/Tutorials/DovetailJig

... There are 10 types of people in this world: Those who understand binary and those who don't....
Alex - looks like a good tutorial page! One Request - Can you add a pic of the icon you used for the API in it?

BTW I know enough binary to get the tag line joke - but not sure I know enough to go play with MS .net 2.0 or even 1.1 at this point! Also - trying to learn AMP web page / site building currently (Appache/MySQL/Php). Robert

alexfranke