What's new

Automation using Python and win32all

Hello,

My name is Duane, and I was wondering if anyone here had successfully (or not!) 'driven' Alibre through its COM API using Python.

If you have, could you please help a newbie out with some examples?

Thanks!
Duane

modtek

API in Python

Hello Duane,

Try contacting "Woodworks". In one of his the earlier posts, he had mentioned about using Python for API.

With regards,

Mod-Tek

WoodWorks

Alibre Super User

I tried using Active State Python with the COM interface included, and was unable to get a working program. I think that there is a problem with my installation as I could not even get the examples using COM with Excel to work for me. My next step will be to try an installation using Python with the free COM extension. If you get the standard examples working with any Python COM package, let me know and I will assist in getting the correct code running for a programming template. I am not a programmer like Modtek, but I am doing simple routines to automate short tasks.

I instead have been concentrating on using the Microsoft Visual Basic Express edition because it is FREE, and has dialog box capabilities (which are not as well developed in Python). The other advantage of Visual Basic is the ability to use the same programming language to create programs in Excel to drive Alibre models.