What's new

Dimension annotation dissapeared

jlawrence

Dimension annotation dissapeared

Hi,

I am new to alibre, and would like to ask an issue I am having with dimension annotation.
Several days ago, when I apply dimension cursor and determine the dimension, the value was shown in the middle of arrow, and also for the circle.

However when i did some drawing today, I cannot have the dimension displayed (alhough the annotation is checked). i got the arrow for the edge of object I want to measure, but the display that mentioned the length did not appear. This makes the work very difficult. Can you please tell me what I should do ?

indesign

Alibre Super User

This sounds a like you are dimensioning the sketch when modeling the 3D part. If this is the case then the dimesions will show when in that sketch edit mode. However since Alibre is parametric the dimesions are stored in a close place to use whenever you like for other features and calculations. Use the equation editor to use or just view all the dimensions.

If this isn't what is occuring then let us know and we will try to help a little more.

jlawrence

Hi, thanks for the fast response.

Actually no, I even cannot get the dimension value shown in the figure for just simple line or rectangle.
Test.jpg

Can you help me by specifying what I should do to solve this problem ?

Thank you in advance,[/img]

indesign

Alibre Super User
Font

I believe your trouble is with the text size.

To change the default size go to the menu File>properties then the tab 'Dimension'. Unlike most Cad programs you do not actually enter a text hieght (this is where most trouble comes from when imprting or exporting from Alibre) but you must enter the text like in a word processor. Select the font button in the text block and select a much larger font. Counting on your scale here I would try a font at least in the 12pt range but it could be much larger if you parts are bigger than a B sheet maybe like a 24pt or even a 56pt.