What's new

Help needed - Calculating internal volume of a speaker cabinet

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to Alibre - coming from Fusion360 and I'm trying to understand the right way to calculate the internal volume of a speaker cabinet. In Fusion, I would use their create a body feature using extruded parts, reference planes, and surfaces to generate a 3D volume of the cabinet, minus any internal volumes belonging to braces or loudspeaker motors. I am trying to do this in Alibre with a top-down design approach, but I don't think the assembly boolean tool is working how I thought it might. I keep getting error messages saying that the assembly boolean can't be completed. Can anyone offer some tips to help me get this process down?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Alibre capture 2.png
    Alibre capture 2.png
    74.8 KB · Views: 19
  • Alibre capture 1.png
    Alibre capture 1.png
    120.5 KB · Views: 17

HaroldL

Alibre Super User
I am trying to do this in Alibre with a top-down design approach, but I don't think the assembly boolean tool is working how I thought it might. I keep getting error messages saying that the assembly boolean can't be completed. Can anyone offer some tips to help me get this process down?
Can you explain the steps you have taken to create the assembly boolean?

Others may have a different approach but I don't think you can select the walls of the cavity and measure the volume. But you may be able to create a solid block with Insert>New Part. Then create the block in the assembly context, using the existing model edges to constrain the sketch to define the shape and extrude to the correct depth. Once the new part is done you can use the Physical Properties to get the volume. It's not the easiest or cleanest way but it may get you what you need.

Last edited:
Can you explain the steps you have taken to create the assembly boolean?
Hi Harold. I'll give it a try.