What's new

How to add a reference for Geomagic Design 2013?

markporter

Hi,
I'm a newbie to API programming with VB 2010 express and the Geomagic design API. I wrote a few simple applications that worked with Alibre 2011/2012, but I can't get them to work with 2013.

So, back to the drawing board. I've started again in Visual Studio 2010 express with Alex Frankes console example, on a 64bit Windows 7 machine. When I try to add a reference I have the choice to add a reference from the .NET, COM and browse tabs.

I've read elsewhere here that I should reference the tlb file in the .NET framework. However, I don't see Geomagic or Alibre listed in the .NET tab.

AlibreX is listed in the COM tab. However, if I select this I get an error telling me I can't add it here, and should add a reference to the .NET assembly instead. How? It's not listed on the .NET tab.

I get the same error if I browse to AlibreX_64.tlb and add that.

If I try to use AlibreX.dll, I get a little further. Unfortunately that targets a different processor, and there is no 64bit version.

Please, what am I doing wrong? Where can I find some documentation to help me get started?

TimoCAD

I think I have the same problem, but you see absolutely no help from Alibre-Geomagic and also no help from the users of the forum.

Even the API-Description-File hasn't been updated since 2011. Poor service for ambitioned Users who would invest some programming time to get the software to the next level, and I bet many programmers here would share their sourcecode with Alibre-Geomagic that they can implement it directly in the software.

What would be a cheaper software-development resource as users who are programming their own AddOns and sharing them with Alibre-Geomagic, hoping that they would implement it directly into the next version/update/patch.

Just think about it guys!

ajayre

Alibre Super User