What's new

Need dimensions on reduced scaled views

w3Leon

Hello All,
I'm looking for some help/advice with dimensions on a reduced scaled view on a 2D drawing. I make miniature reproduction items and some of my customers like to see comparative the dimensions of various reduced scales. My typical drawing format scales are Full, 1/3 and 1/4 on the same page (see attached file). I'm new to using Alibre Design and I cannot figure out how to make it display the reduced dimension of the reduced scale item. Is there a feature in Alibre for controlling this?

Software: Alibre Design Expert v26

Thank you,
Walt

Attachments

• View Scaled Dimension Question (W.White 28-Jan-23).pdf
    55.6 KB · Views: 8

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
Dimensions in Alibre reflect the ACTUAL dimensions used in the design.

If you want to scale the part use part scale/mirror command. As you have Expert, you could have different configurations for each scale applied.

Drawings of the scaled part will then reflect the actual sizes.

View scale in 2D drawings just fits the view in a smaller space, it doesn't alter part sizes.

w3Leon

Thanks DavidJ,

I just completed several experiments with the "Scale/Mirror Part" command. It appears that "Scale/Mirror Part" will reduce (or increase) the part that has been created and it also changes the original part. Therefore, I tried experimenting with making two copies of the part within the one file and changing the scale of each part, but that didn't work either. Next I tried creating an "Assembly" then inserting three instances of the part and tried changing the scale of each instance....this did not work.