What's new

Oh YA! Finally dimension styles!!!!

cclark440

Alibre Super User
Oh YA! Finally dimension styles!!!!

I can't tell you how much I have missed this feature. I am SOOOO happy that Alibre now supports it.

It has literally cut my drawing detail time in half.

What exactly is it doing differently. I'm still learning the 3d part of it so I haven't used the 2d side that much and am not that familiar with it.

cclark440

Alibre Super User

Alibre now lets you define dimension style.

For example, When I detail drawings a have about 4 different tolerance specifications I use. Before V9.1 I would have to place the dimensions, then open the properties of each one and specify the tolerances.

Now I can specify the tolerances one time and save it as new type.
Then when I place my new dimension instead of having to tab around the dialog box, I click on a drop down and specify what style I want this dimension to be.

I would estimate it saves me between 16 to 20 keystrokes and about 4 mouse clicks per dimension that needs specific tolerances.

indesign

Alibre Super User

Also they allow multiple dimension selection and editing the common style parameters.

You can now select 10 dimensions and change them from a 4 place decimal to a 3 place or to a different style.

dgstoll

Has anyone found where the dim styles are stored so you can create them at home or work and transfer the styles to the other computer?
daveS

cclark440

Alibre Super User

OHHH NOOOOOO!!!

The dimension style only seem to stay with the drawing that it was created in.

Please someone tell me that I am missing something!!!!!!!

If this is the case, Why bother!

Man I am bummed!!!!!!

I guess when I was talking to the developer about his I need to specify that once a custom style is defined it needs to be available for all drawings, not just the one it was created in. Did anyone else have input on this feature, surely I can't be the only one.

bray