What's new

Resources for Learning More Complicated Feature Designs?

kritoke

For those who are more self taught and not working in the industry, how have you learned complicated or more difficult concepts? I’m trying to figure out hinges for instance and soon to figure out dovetails with screw holes. Aside from trying to find videos on other products and figuring out how to translate the way to build it, any other tips? I heard some folks might have got old design books on eBay but just trying to see what is the best avenue to go down.

HaroldL

Alibre Super User
I’m trying to figure out hinges for instance and soon to figure out dovetails with screw holes
What version/level of Alibre are you working with,v24, 25 or 26 and Expert, Pro, or Atom3D?

What is it about hinges and screw holes that you need to figure out?
Dovetails do take a bit of modeling, I think I have some files that I worked on to create an accurate dovetail model. I'll look to see where I put it and upload an example.

I put a link in the Tip and Tricks section that will get you a lot of drawings to practice modeling with

Ken226

Alibre Super User
Modeling and design are two different things. Trying to learn both at the same time would be pretty tough.

If you learn enough about modelling in CAD that you're no longer struggling with it, the design part of it will be very much easier.

Find a project that's a little over your head, and get started. Tackle it one bite at a time, and never, ever give up.

Every time you run into a roadblock, think outside the box for solutions, log in here and ask questions, watch videos, and keep working on it untill it's solved. Don't ever give up.

Then, do another one, and another.

Look at the T. Carreras Soto drawings that Harold turned me onto awhile back. I found them to be excellent learning tools. Pick one, then turn the drawing into a solid model.

Last edited:

kritoke