What's new
I am trying to write a script which will build a proper assembly out of existing configurations once the menus are all complete. However, all the existing tutorials are based around building a new configuration, or a new assembly. My question is: what are the specific Python script commands for choosing and activating a configuration from existing configurations already present in the assembly?

Failing that, can I choose to create a new assembly and populate it with a pre-made assembly?

I am trying to build a script which will allow my salesforce to build their own 3D models to export to customers, for some background.

Thanks!

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
I'm not an expert, but check

1. are you instantiating a configuration object from the assembly(or part)? - something like
myAssem = CurrentAssembly()
myConfig = myAssem.GetConfiguration("Manual")
myConfig.Activate()

2. make sure that the name given exactly matches the name of the configuration, make sure the commands have capitals where needed.

There are others here who understand this much better than I do.

1. are you instantiating a configuration object from the assembly(or part)? - something like
myConfig.Activate()

2. make sure that the name given exactly matches the name of the configuration, make sure the commands have capitals where needed.

Thanks David that worked like a charm!
the ".Activate()" line is what did it.

Is there some database which contains Alibre specific commands?

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
I found all that in the Alibre Script Reference - it's accessible from Script -> Help. The Reference supplements the Quick Start , it's not exactly user friendly but using the 2 together I've been able to slowly work improve my knowledge and abilities.

myConfig.Activate()

Things such as this are why we need a well indexed User's Manual. -- Lew

Lew - Start a new thread asking for help.