What's new

Setting Export file type default

3DPrince

I am new to Atom 3D (V22)...
Every time I "Export" the finished part, it always comes up to export as ".stp" and then I have to scroll down to the bottom of the file types to select ".stl"

It would nice if I could set this somehow to ".stl" as the default.

Could this be done in settings? - I have search Settings and cannot find an option for this. If there is, please let me know.

The other way to fix this is for the program to remember the last Export file type selected, and then use that each time as the default.

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
It should already remember the last used export type - this was added relatively recently.

As far as I can tell, that is probably saved in your User Profile - you could try re-setting that (in case it is damaged) - but be aware' you'll have to re-establish any preference settings. There's a link to re-set your user profile on the Utilities Tab of the Home Window.

3DPrince

Hi DavidJ,
I reset my user profile,as you suggested, and now the export has defaulted to .stl

Thank you for the quick fix.

Eric

3DPrince

It has now reverted back to .stp without me doing anything.
There needs to be an option to "Set the export file type to the last chosen format."

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
It should remember last used export type - so I'd suggest your profile has been damaged again.

For a small number of users, the profile does seem vulnerable to damage. I have no idea why that should be the case.

3DPrince

If the Profile is vulnerable to damage and the most common Export type for most users is .stl - then the export file type list should be rearranged so that .stl is at the top of the list instead of .stp. Then whatever happens to the fragile Profile won't effect the .stl selection.

BlackBird28

and the most common Export type for most users is .stl - then the export file type list should be rearranged so that .stl is at the top of the list instead of .stp.