What's new

The ultimate API Challenge

brettlong

The ultimate API Challenge

I work for a company that mostly produces large castings. However, on a number of occasions we have to convert the casting to a fabrication for delivery or price purposes. It's near impossible to duplicate these complex shapes using Alibre Sheetmetal. Is it possible to write an API that would measure individual surfaces of a model and convert them into their respective flat shapes? Even if the API only generated a 2d outline of the flat surface, that would be enough to program a CNC plasma table. I'm not an API programmer, but i thought it would be something that someone may want to try. I'm sure there's a lot of money to be made.

alexfranke

This one sounds interesting, too. I'm not sure I completely understand the lingo, though...

Are you saying you want to take a solid and essentially flatten it (like you might do to a cardboard box) so that it could be folded back up into the original shape? Or, what I think I'm hearing is that you just want the part "exploded" (so to speak) into a bunch of unconnected 2D surfaces that represent the faces of the original part. Is this right?

Is it only flat faces we'd be dealing with, or is it curves, features, etc?

Could you send me a verison 8.2 part as an example?

Is there a lot of general interest in this type of functionality?

Thanks,
-Alex

jwknecht

Alibre Super User

If it means to convert a regular part to a sheet metal part (that can be unfolded), then YES!!!! That is like the number 1 Sheet Metal request.

brettlong

Allow me to clarify (I hope). Our parts are manufactured from large iron & steel castings (up to 50,000 lbs). On numerous occasions we are required to make a fabricated version of the part. Sometimes these parts have lofted features. The API would take the surfaces a part and flatten them to be used in a nesting program for cnc plasma burning. There's really no need to refold. I hope this helped.

alexfranke