What's new

Recent content by Jim C

1. J

v21 Preview

OK, you have convinced me and I renewed my maintenance today! Now, how about a universal "hide Reference Geometry". When aligning parts in an assembly I sometimes forget if I selected a sub-assembly or a part in the sub-assembly and have to hunt around to hide the reference geometry. Maybe...
  2. J

A little preview

Hello Max, keep the goodies coming. There is no question that there will be some changes in some items but I have over 55 years of design experience in several fields and there have been some that went smoothly and some that needed a few "tweeks". In any case, give them a try and see how they...
  3. J

OT - Let's Talk Tolerances

In general I have found the tighter the tolerance the greater the cost (or time if I'm doing the work). There are many times when a tolerance of +/- 0.01 or more is plenty good enough. But then something like 0.0005 is needed for things to work properly. Make as loose as possible without making...
  4. J

HP Stream 14 for Alibre 2019 ??!!

No, I’m not kidding, the HP 14” Stream works quite well with Alibre 2019. Ok, it’s not the fastest but definitely a usable computer to take to the coffee shop, throw it in the truck or car or covered wagon. Nice part it is not so expensive that if something happens it is not a disaster. The...
  5. J

At what point does one make a design an assembly?

From my point of view apart is a single item which stands (or lies down) on its own. An assembly is the combination of two or more parts. Of course then there are sub assemblies that are integrated together to make a larger sub assembly or the end product. I design and fabricate most of the...
  6. J

Threads not exported with STL file