What's new

What do you use to manage File and Folder Versions? (Other than renaming versions...)

Would you find this useful?

• Yes - This would be better than something I use (and I'll post about)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

sacherjj

So as a programmer, I typical version files with a source control system. This does work for Alibre files, but is a little more work that I'd like at times.

I have not found a piece of software that I've thought of and don't know if it is out there and I missed it, or if no one has built it.

Here is what I'm thinking:

1 - A windows service runs and you setup folders to watch. If files change in these folders, a compressed copy of the changed file is created to the data location and a version is saved. This is automatic.
2 - A CLI interface (at first) allows you to add folders, remove folders, list them, see history of folder, tag a version, and prune old space.
3 - A GUI comes next and what most would use, as viewing all versions will be easier.

So you are using Alibre (or many other software) and you are designing an Assembly with a dozen part files. Each time you save any file in that folder, we get a folder version as positive integer. Each file also has a version. Now you go a different direction and totally f'up the design. If only you could roll back to what all files looked like 20 minutes ago.

Select the folder version of then and restore. Now you are back to before messing it up. The other file versions are still there, but any new changes will be shown after them.

Once you have not changed these files in a while (user configurable) the software would remind that you can tag them and also prune history (to reclaim disk space). With many saves, the disk space will be large. Even if I store compressed.