What's new

Search results

1. IMAhobbyist

Cleaning Blunt Thread Ends

This project started out with cut threads before I realized the bottles this was intended to mate to appear to use a course Helix Boss (thread) similar to what I ended up with.
  2. IMAhobbyist

Agree, don't ask me how; apparently I've been overlooking the Taper function in helix up until now.
  3. IMAhobbyist

Believe what I've settled upon is lofting an end taper between sketch created on a plane at helix end and another some mm away. This was mostly an exercise for feature of visual aesthetic, however I may attempt to use it at some point while displacing thread from a tube end on my "crudely" made...
  4. IMAhobbyist

From what I have now observed the advanced helix flatten feature changes the start/end helix pitch and transition angle? Which wasn't apparent to me until now. My desire is to make a taper or point to the end of the helix. If it's not already obvious let me say I am a self taught CAD...
  5. IMAhobbyist

Thank you, gave that a quick try using the end of the helix as a new plane and it got me close to what I desired.
  6. IMAhobbyist

Am working with a tube which doesn't offer enough end surface for a good chamfer. This "eye candy" when printed mates quite well with the cheap plastic bottles it is designed to interface with. Was hoping something in the Advanced Tab on Helix would smooth the top of this helix shown.
  7. IMAhobbyist

When creating threads for printing via the helix method, how does one taper or smooth out the end from blunt ? Haven't quite figured out the advanced tab features in helix if that's related. Alibre Atom
  8. IMAhobbyist

filament printer

This video addresses the blending in of flex resins, however if an object merely bends more without breaking, does that equate to stronger? Often see suggestion of FDM printing ABS for strength. I don't have an all metal hotend, couple that with the smell of ABS, never got around to that. PETG...
  9. IMAhobbyist