What's new

9.1 Upgrade and PDF Publish

Taarak

9.1 Upgrade and PDF Publish

This being my first post, I wish to say how informative and helpful this forum has been to me over the last year. When I run into an obstacle, this is usually the first and last place I need to look. And before I ask any questions, just a quick comment:

Alibre is a great product, with a great underlying design. I’ve been in software development for nearly 20 years, and if I were to develop a 3D Cad package from scratch, it would look like this. 9.0 seemed to fix some memory leaks that were running amok, and though UI interaction between the tree, assembly panel, and child windows still needs tweaking (lost focus, selection jumping, etc.), the usage is intuitive and the learning curve is low. I’ve never done CAD work before, and did a lot of shopping before selecting Alibre. It was the best choice - Great job!

I just upgraded to 9.1 tonight, and was really looking forward to the 3d PDF publishing. Upgrade went smoothly, and I updated PhotoRender too with no problems.

I read up on what Adobe was doing with Acrobat 3d, but never saw it working. Now that I’ve used it - wow (and what I mean by that is WOW!) The rendering and lighting options make it close to PhotoRender in quality, and MUCH faster. I love the Shaded Illustration view too. Here’s some questions…

1) After experimenting with the “Publish to PDF” on one assembly a few times, the “Publish to PDF” from the file menu greyed out. The toolbar option worked a few more times then that greyed out. I can still create a PDF from other assemblies, but not from the first one. It seemed to happen when the Publish Wizard failed while I was viewing a PDF with Adobe Reader. Restarting/ReBooting doesn’t help. Is this a bug?
2) Why weren’t some standard defaults included in the PDF Publish Wizard? Simple things like Background, Render Mode, and Lighting.