What's new

A way to output coordintes to a *.txt file

harsimran187

A way to output coordintes to a *.txt file

Hey,
I'm new to this program, I usually use AutoCad to do all drawings. However, my boss told me to download a trial version of Alibre and test it out to see if it fits our neccessities.

I am looking for a way to take an extrusion and choose points and output these points to a text file. The application taht we use here is to model a certain die, and shape it with welders/cutters and saws. In order to do that, I need a way to find the coordinates for the xyz coordinates.

I cant really find anything to do with API's for alibre. I was wondering if someone could help me.

Thanks,
Harsimran

harsimran187

I've programmed this much, however the excel file does not output the coordinates. Is there anyone who can see what Im doing wrong? Or help me out?

Private Sub Command1_Click()

Dim swApp As AlibreX.AutomationHook
Dim doc As AlibreX.IADRoot
Dim part As AlibreX.IADPartSession
Dim sm As AlibreX.IADSession

Dim feat As AlibreX.IADPartFeature
Dim sketch As AlibreX.IADSketch

Dim sseg As AlibreX.IADSketchFigure
Dim sline As AlibreX.IADSketchLine
Dim sp As AlibreX.IADSketchPoint
Dim ep As AlibreX.IADSketchPoint

Dim strFilePath As String
strFilePath = "c:\\api\\sketch.AD_PRT"

Dim s As String
Dim v As Variant
Dim i As Long

Dim exApp As Excel.Application
Dim sheet As Excel.Worksheet

Set exApp = New Excel.Application
If Not exApp Is Nothing Then
exApp.Visible = True
If Not exApp Is Nothing Then
exApp.Workbooks.Add
Set sheet = exApp.ActiveSheet
If Not sheet Is Nothing Then
sheet.Cells(1, 2).Value = "X"
sheet.Cells(1, 3).Value = "Y"
sheet.Cells(1, 4).Value = "Z"
End If
End If
End If

Set swApp = GetObject(, "AlibreX.AutomationHook")
If Not swApp Is Nothing Then
Set doc = swApp.Root()

If Not doc Is Nothing Then
If doc.Type = swDocPART Then
Set part = sm
Set sm = doc.NewObjectCollector
If Not part Is Nothing And Not sm Is Nothing Then