What's new

alibre design best way to copy all files (3d and 2d)

ROTTER

I have been using Alibre for over 10 years and recently I realized that the backup copies of projects that I make are not copies in any sense.
Alibre gives the possibility to make a copy of model 3D in an easy way – and that works.
I was looking on the forum, I was asking my technical support how to make a copy of 2D drawing documentation. There is only one answer – Alibre does not give the possibility to make the copy of drawing documentation. I got the advice to register all drawings on a multi-sheet file but such drawing is hard in use (system slows down) and can not be used in more complex projects since you can add only single BOM.
The copy of the general assembly drawing made by the packing tool is defective because you can not say where its Constituents are placed. It is easy to check that the original Constituents (RMB) are in the original catalogue and the copy Constituents are not in the copy catalogue but in some awkward place – please take a look at the attachment.
To summarize: when you have the standard documentation format (general assembly drawing and on it its BOM, assembly drawings and on them their BOM and, finally, detailed drawings ) you can not make a spare copy of such project.
After making the copy you get spilled BOM and question marks in ballon. All the drawings for the spare copy has to be corrected manually – in fact you have to make new drawings, from the start. Often it happens that the dimensions are no longer attached.