What's new

Another free CAD program teaser..

volker

Hi Miles,
i am sure, there has been another topic here regarding "new kids on the block" or something like that.
A small office, not far away from one of the "big boys" was looking for software engineers.

I can not find it anymore. Maybe its the same company.

Cheers
Volker

MikeHenry

Alibre Super User

What the heck is Jon's problem? Is it just Alibre that he carps on or do other vendors get the same treatment?

It's quite possible that I'm missing his point as I'm self-taught at 3D CAD with modest needs compared to many users, but his comments sound like someone complaining that MS Word is a lousy product because it doesn't do calculations as well as MathCAD or Mathematica. To me, Word is the wrong product if you want to complex mathematical problems and Alibre is the wrong tool if you want to design car bodies.

Mike

swertel

Alibre Super User

Jon does that to every CAD system except KeyCreator (CADKey) or VX Cad. I don't know if he realizes that he hurts the images of those companies more than he helps.

MilesH

Alibre Super User
Re:

volker said:
Hi Miles,
i am sure, there has been another topic here regarding "new kids on the block" or something like that.
A small office, not far away from one of the "big boys" was looking for software engineers.

I can not find it anymore. Maybe its the same company.

Cheers
Volker

Hi Volker,

This is the link: http://www.alibre.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2056

I doubt that there's any connection because they have only recently started developing this. Ralph says: "a well known name in the CAD industry", also: "...this company, older than Alibre.....".

Mike,

I think Alibre gets off pretty lightly compared to Solidworks - J.B. is a prolific poster on comp.cad.solidworks.....

MilesH

Alibre Super User
Re:

CGN said:
TurboCAD?

IMSI is in the middle of a merger which will probably result in Turbocad being spun off....