What's new

Back-up Utility for Geomagic

Elrick

I was just thinking abour this. Arent there such utilities for Geomagic? Wouldnt it be nice to plug an external hard drive into your system, define a folder and Geomagic updates all the changed files in that folder with a primary from the hard drive backed up from? I'm in a habit of copieng my whole drawing folder onto my backup harddrive and deleting older ones.

It couldnt be too diffycult since Geomagic only needs to make a log of all the files with each backup and make another one while progress continues. Then it could overwrite the files you worked with and copy the newly created drawings. Im not a programmer but this could be simple right?

jhiker

Alibre Super User
I use 'FreeFileSync' to back up my vault to another location. It will compare and synchronise folders and sub-folders.
It allows you to generate a batch file which you can then schedule to run whenever you like using Windows' 'Task Scheduler'

lamar

I have a segate 2 terabite external hard drive with memo software and it makes a copy of all file that have changed. it keep 3 copys and deleats any older one. it saved me many times. :D :D

dwc

Alibre Super User
There are many external programs to do this.
I use AllwaySync'n'Go to good effect.
It does just what you ask for, but you can use it for all your work, not just that done with AD
Don

Elrick

Im glad to know there are such software!! It just makes sense to me. Are these software user friendly and trustworthy? I would be cautious but eager to try these programs you guys mentioned. Thanks for the reference.

Would still be very nice and legit if Geomagic could make their own back-up utility :)

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
Geomagic developers have enough of a backlog of things to fix or add without giving them peripheral features to add that can be accomplished by readily available existing software.

Elrick