What's new

Breaking scripts into reusable classes

bolsover

My background is in programming and I am accustomed to breaking my work into separate logical files containing related functions and data.

How do I do this using AlibreScript?

For example, I want a class CycloidalGear

class CycloidalGear:
module
toothCount

Normally, in another class, I would just call:

cg1 = CycloidalGear()

I could then access the variables and functions of CycloidalGear

db

NateLiquidGravity

Alibre Super User
It's Python based so as long as you look at docs for the correct Python version it should work. However not all modules work so there is some trial and error.

This should be the right doc:
https://docs.python.org/2/tutorial/classes.html

Here is a working example of a class I made for easily saving/loading settings in an external XML file. As you can read in the topic - there was some trouble getting the class to import correctly - so this example will probably help.
https://www.alibreforum.com/forum/i...s-release-load-save-external-variables.21047/

bolsover

Thanks for the examples - certainly help.
Most of my programming over the last few years has been in Java; mostly creating desktop applications that work with SQL backends - so scripting with Python is a bit strange and not helped by the rather poor Alibre scripting interface.

The initial goal is to develop a script that can create cycloidal gears (as used in clocks).
I've got most of the math working - now need to translate that into actual parts.

db

bolsover

Is is just me or is the Alibre scripting interface just completely rubbish?

I've been tearing my hair out writing and debugging scripts - I've lost count of the number of times I've had to restart Alibre because it does not appear to pick up on corrections made in referenced classes.

NateLiquidGravity

Alibre Super User