What's new

Citique -- Has Alibre lost its way?

gregmilliken

No, if I understand the question. Team Design requires that you have at least two licenses running concurrently.

If you are asking about the Team Design Server being used to manage sharing repositories created with one license that is installed on multiple systems, technically I believe it would work. Of course, if this is just one license installed for convenience on multiple systems only one copy of the software could be running at a time.

We have not envisioned this use of the Team Design Server and since we charge for it it may not end up being as economical as purchasing more licenses. We are flexible in doing what we can to expand usage so discuss it with your sales rep and we'll see if there is a solution that makes sense.

indesign

Alibre Super User

Thanks Greg,

I understand. Since currently I only have the standard version I have no experience with the repository. I am the only one doing the designs for now but we have looked into a second seat. Having the use of Xpress for the viewing of a part designed has helped a great amount.

I am looking into the options available so I can try to convince the boss on upgrading to Pro. If there was a better option for VM then this may have been done already. The boss sometimes likes to bring up files in his office while talking to customers. Having a local shared repository would help keep mishaps from happening. I could better control who has the ability to change the file among the other things it offers.

Gaspar

Alibre Super User

Hello Greg,

During the past 4 months, we discovered the enormous advantage of placing our design files in the Alibre server so our 4 users can participate in different stages of the design work while keeping a unique single copy of the files.

This sped up our design response so dramatically that we were able to make very aggresive commitments with our clients (I could give details if you're interested).