What's new

concept car

johnwsimpson

concept car

Hello everyone,

I am very new to Alibre. My background is in software design so this is not very intuitive to me and I struggle with drawings.

Even so, I am looking for someone who has done concept car modeling in Alibre and would be willing to let me look at their code and try to understand what is involved with bringing something like that to life.

I'm sorry if this post is not done well or follows the rules but this is my first post. I appreciate any help that anyone can give me.

Thanks
john

swertel

Alibre Super User

What portion of the car are you talking about? Just the outer body shape, engine, frame, suspension, or everything?

johnwsimpson

Well swertel,

I guess I'm talking about everything but mostly the outer body shape of the vehicle. Thank you for getting back to me.

john

CGN

Alibre won't be the best tool for such task ("Free surfacing"), i have seen some work in solidworks but still not good enough, you need look for a surface modeler like rhino or ashlar, there is mechanical software that can handle surfacing but i think I'll stick to a surface modeler for "concept designing" (Cars, boats, or any freeform shape).

swertel

Alibre Super User

That was going to be my suggestion. There is a reason that big name auto companies use CATIA and UG for their designs. The power for the free-form surface modeler to define the outer master surface. Then take that surface and cut it up into the body sections as manufactured - but always linked back to that master surface in order to make a smooth and sleak looking vehicle.

If you don't want to spend that much for CATIA and UG, try the Rhino plug-in or try VX CAD/CAM.

Most free-form surface modelers can export Iges or step master surface files which can then be used by Alibre to create the body sections.

johnwsimpson

concept car video playback

Hi Miles,