What's new

Editing imported STEP models for a complete newb

jordanyte

Hi All,

I just acquired Alibre Expert last night. It's been given a good wrap by a lot of my own customers in the electronics industry (in the interests of full-disclosure, I am employed by Altium but I purchased Alibre for personal use).

Most of the work I do is electronics design (including PCB design) and for that I use a lot of STEP models to do mechanical constraint checking for the electronics assemblies. But I also want as close as possible to photorealistic renders of the PCBs before I get them fabricated and assembled (a picture is worth a thousand words).

So.... my first newb question is, how do I add color/material information to a model I've imported from STEP? STEP AP214 models I use/download usually include colors but not always. For component models I will create myself it won't matter because they'll first be native Alibre models - then exported to STEP for the PCB layout.

I know a lot of my own customers are probably in here (Altium users) - help me out guys!

Regards to all,
Ben Jordan.

Ben,

Spend the $$$ to print out the user's guide (it cost me about $40 a couple of months back to do so printed double-sided and punched for a 3-ring notebook). The index is reasonably good and you can find most things pretty quickly. My main "issue" with it (and with "modern" CAD) is the misuse of terms -- "lofting" being applied to "directrix-controlled extrusion" operations, calling everything "parametric" even when it is not, and the like. But then I am an old phart -- my first microcomputer was a 4-bit, discrete component, RTL processor running at a screaming 16 kHz.

Hop

You may have to wait for V2011 to color those STEP models. So, make sure you have purchased at least a year of maintenance to qualify for the "free" upgrade. Max has posted a link at this topic http://www.alibre.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=11609 to a glossy brochure that describes the new features in V2011.