What's new

How can I create a curved extrusion of a part face?

concept

I'm trying to loft or sweep a sketch to a part face but have not had any luck.
Sweeping my sketch to a geometry target is not allowed, apparently. I also tried to loft two identical sketches with an overhead path (curved line seen in image).This particular situation is something with which I have little experience. I've swept circular sketches many times but not something like this. Have any of you done this, before? Any tips?
Thanks.
Part face curved extrusion.jpg

HaroldL

Alibre Super User
You cannot Loft a double sketch as you show. Create a sketch on the perimeter of the Face you want to loft to and change the angled sketch to a single profile, one that matches the face sketch. Then you can Loft BOSS those two sketches. Then create a second pair of sketches to create a Loft CUT to remove the inner part of the loft boss.

I also recorded this short video showing how to add a Sweep Boss to the part.

While I was at it I figured that I should also demo the Loft Boss and Loft Cut.

Last edited:

Ken226

Alibre Super User
I'm trying to loft or sweep a sketch to a part face but have not had any luck.
Sweeping my sketch to a geometry target is not allowed, apparently. I also tried to loft two identical sketches with an overhead path (curved line seen in image).This particular situation is something with which I have little experience. I've swept circular sketches many times but not something like this. Have any of you done this, before? Any tips?
Thanks.
View attachment 37474

If you don't mind uploading the file your working on, I'd like to see if I can figure out why the sweep isn't working.

concept

Here it is. I believe that the outline sketch of the part sees interference when swept.

Attachments

• Fan nozzle Insert Curved.AD_PRT
    494.5 KB · Views: 8

concept

Yes. Unfortunately when I try to export that shape as an STL file, the "writing file to disk percentage number stops on 19%.