What's new

Modelling a ship hull

Spoors

Hi all,
I have been using Alibre Design (now PE version) for a couple of years already to create models of small narrow gauge trains and to have them 3D printed. Once they have been motorised, tey are shown on small detailed diorama's at exhibitions. The shapes of these locomotives are quite straightforward, so I have not experienced any problems modelling them.

For a new diorama, I would to model a hull of a specific Frisian ship called a 'Skûtsje'. Below an image of a large scale model of one of these ships.

I have tried several ways to model the hull (as a solid, incl the deck) of this ship, but without any luck.
How should I approach this? The midsection is not too difficult, but I run into problems with the back and the front.
Unfortunately I have to do it directly in Alibre, as PE does not have a decent import function.

Anybody any ideas?

Cheers,

Jeroen

Attachments

• Skutsje_af_1.jpg
    Skutsje_af_1.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 57
  • Skutsje_af_2.jpg
    Skutsje_af_2.jpg
    125.8 KB · Views: 62
  • Skutsje_af_3.jpg
    Skutsje_af_3.jpg
    120.8 KB · Views: 41

RCH_Projects

Alibre Super User
If ya got a decent export, Alibre has a good shot at it.
If allowed you can request PM volunteers to handle initial imports I'm sure.
What and how many conversions do initially need and when would you like them?

(I do have the advanced translate but I'm still on BETA.)

I favor spline imports, constraining to planes, axes, points for variability control and lofts.
Otherwise I reckon you have your prefered process and could teach me a few things. :)

Elrick

Hi Jeroen,

Here is some threads you could check out for some ideas:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14439
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14577