What's new

Multiple BOM tables into single drawing file

Hi All
I have been using this software for over a 12 years now and have developed my methods of modelling and producing workshop drawings to match Alibre's capabilities. My main area of work in the last 5 years has been around structural steel for new buildings and earthquake strengthening of existing buildings. I provide a draughting service to a number of companies. The preferred layout of workshop drawings varies from customer to customer, some want individual drawings for each part and then Assembly drawings to show the combined units for fabrication. Others just want 1 single drawing files with all assemblies and parts on the same drawing( 2D drawing method ) . The 2 options do create different time implication and smaller companies with good experience fabricators prefer single sheet drawings. this is often a faster and cheaper way of producing an acceptable set of workshop drawings. There is a move in our country (New Zealand) with multiple levels of sub-contactors involved in the construction industry that Pre-approved sets of workshop drawings are required before fabrication can be started.

As this is all tender work I am losing work to other Draughtsman with software that allows you to create a single drawing file with multiple Live BOM tables inserted into it.

If anyone out there has any ideas or Alibre programmer's can help please reply.

Regards

SouthernPedro

Hunter

There is a way to include multiple BOMs in one drawing, but it is a manual process. Also, the BOMs will be static, so any change to your assemblies/parts will require you to update manually. At least you won't have to type out the BOM.

Export your AD_BOM files as CSV files, and import them into the drawing as tables (Import Table). If your assembly/part changes, you'll have to export the BOM as a CSV again, delete the table and re-insert.

Hi Hunter