What's new

Offline programming services, good idea?

Alexander

Hey guys,

I am a freelance CAD designer and I am seriously considering expanding my services to CAM/CNC offline programming.
My career started as a CNC programmer/settor which was around 17 years ago so I have experience in this sector. One of my clients asked me if I could provide a G-code for a fairly simple part, so I agreed and used AlibreCAM to produce the toolpaths. In the end client was very happy, :eek:.
I'm hoping I can get some feedback as to whether this is a good idea or do most machine shops have there own in house programmers & software? I just think this may give me an edge over the competition out there.
Any advice would be great, before I invest in the AC standard (only have AC basic)

Thanks

bigseb

Alibre Super User
Difficult one to answer really, only you know what your clients need...

I do CNC work every single day but that company have their own software which I use (Powermill and EZ-Cam) and they're aren't keen on trying out anything different. Other times when companies need help with CNC programming it usually because they don't understand the fundamentals of CNC work and don't understand how their machines operate. That's not something that you'll need software for though.

As someone that has a ton of hands-on CNC experience my thoughts are this: I believe that this sort of work requires constant supervision i.e. stand at the control to monitor everything OR know your machine, tools, software, workflow, etc so intimately that you can set it and forget it while you carry on with your design work. :!:

Alexander

Thanks Seb,
I was hoping you would reply.

The reason why my client asked me for the code was because it was to complicated to manually input, and they don't have the software or skilled staff.
With the post processing capabilities of the CAM software does this not make it possible to create code for the machines without being on-site to supervise or operate?