What's new

Opening a .STEP file: no progress indicator, just a spinning icon. Consider adding a progress bar...

ReedMikel

I am very new to Atom3D, so maybe I'm doing something wrong. I used FreeCAD to convert a .STL file to a .STEP, with hopes of being able to open it in Atom3D. I was able to get FreeCAD to convert the .STL to a mesh, then solidify mesh object and finally export as a .STEP. In Atom3D, I started a new part, then clicked File->Open and chose the .STEP file. The status bar/line at bottom of screen is blank and there's no progress indicator/status whatsoever - just the spinning circle icon. Been about 20 mins so far. The .STEP file is 175MB. Interestingly, FreeCAD also failed to display any progress info as it converted the STL to a "mesh" object - which took about 15 mins. So I'm thinking Atom3D simply shares the same lack of feedback when opening files (maybe just 3rd party files)? Since the file size is certainly known to Atom3D, why not display a simple progress bar (or display progress on bottom status line) at it processes the file?

Just my 2 cents :)

solveer

IMHO, a file of 175MB will not work in Alibre... far too big. I have successfully imported files larger than that (also faceted) into Siemens NX, but that is a different class.
Can you share the files, both STL and STEP (perhaps through GrabCAD)? I would be interested in taking a look and perhaps provide some additional feedback or a conversion..
Fyi, feedback on importing files, irrespective of whether the file size is know, is unlikely going to happen (irrespective of the software in question) as there is a lot going on in the background that goes beyond just 'reading' the contents (referred to as parsing). Some items are iterative, others based on other reference data, so the process is not linear (and thus cannot be estimated without essentially running through it).

Ben

ReedMikel