What's new

pattern features with variable geometry

Jholt

I am making a test part to check clearances. It represents a series of rollers that gradually increase in length.
I have tried to model this by making reference planes and axis at the angle I need, and building the sketch for the prototype roller using constraints to the reference axis. However when i pattern the feature, all the rollers are the same size.

If I edit the sketch, I can drag the roller along the Y axis and it re-sizes appropriately. I have included the part file and the global parameters file that drives it.

Does anyone know how to get the patterned features to increase in length?

Thanks,
Jenn

Attachments

• rollers.AD_PRT
    2.1 MB · Views: 2
  • Treadmill.AD_GLP
    12 KB · Views: 2
Jenn -- Assuming that the rollers.AD_PRT is based on variables defined by Treadmill.AD_GLP making a Package of the Part file is the better way to "transport: it. -- Lew

bigseb

Alibre Super User
I am really new to Alibre, sorry. I'll look up how to do that.

Jenn
To expand on what Lew says: If you go to File --> Package --> Create Alibre will save your design as a package that will contain all required files and maintain the links to one another. In your case the part file and the parameters file will maintain association.

I am really new to Alibre, sorry. I'll look up how to do that.
Hi Jenn -- Assuming that you have set Equation Editor variables to be defined by GLP variables, use the File->Package->Create command set yo create an "AD_PKG" file from your Part (and the Package will automagically include the GLP file). -- Lew

Jholt

Hi Jenn -- Assuming that you have set Equation Editor variables to be defined by GLP variables, use the File->Package->Create command set yo create an "AD_PKG" file from your Part (and the Package will automagically include the GLP file). -- Lew

Took me a while to find the free time, but here is the package.

Attachments

• rollers.AD_PKG
    340.1 KB · Views: 6

Jholt