What's new

Projected Design Dims vs. Manually added Dims

So, I don't post often and as a hobbyist I rarely use the drafting features, but today I needed something so I could build some parts and ran into some issues. I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing or what but it definitely doesn't look like it should behave this way no matter what.

I have a fully constrained part that I manually dimensioned in drafting and noticed that parallel lines were coming out at an angle, but off by .000001 degree. Though if I look at the sketch they are fine. So if I project the design dims they are obviously fine but off if I manually add dimensions. Seems to me they should be the same no matter what. I might be doing something wrong (the only thing I can think is the manually added line for the angle, but it's constrained to the center points so it should be fine). Also, the 19.999999 dim should be (and is) 20mm in my sketch.

Another funny thing is that while setting this up for a screen shot it changed. The manually added 29.999999 degree dimension was obviously non concentric initially, then I deleted and redimensioned it and now it's concentric. Also, the 19.999999 dim changed. I manually created it and at first it was 19.999999 then I just did it again and now it's 20mm. This inconsistent behaviour stuff is frustrating. How can anyone prove there are issues if it changes all the time?!

upload_2020-7-5_11-9-58.png

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
Difficult to comment without the files to examine. Might be linked to levels of precision selected for the relevant dimension style, but that's juts a guess.

HaroldL

Alibre Super User
There was another discussion on the forum a while ago about the same issue of Alibre being "off" at the sixth decimal place. That's a millionth of a degree. o_O