What's new

Sloping stair railing

Lukin

Hello forum members,

I am new to Alibre Design and I like this SW very much, I thank all the people who are involved in its development.

Now to the question:

I would like to ask if you have any tips on how to simplify the modeling of a sloping stair railing, so that it is composed of individual components (posts, handrail, infill rods).

I was used to doing this in a so-called frame construction, and changing the angle of the railing or some dimensions in the assembly was easy. Unfortunately, Alibre does not have this function yet, so I want to ask if anyone has any tips that would guarantee that changing a dimension in the assembly will not be so complicated and it will not be necessary to adjust all components (cutting angles of individual handrails tubes, rods often lead through the posts - holes at a certain angle).

Thank you for any tips and also thanks for the great SW Alibre.

Best regards Lukas.

sbeamers

If I were doing a project like that my go to tool would be configurations in each of the individual components (posts, handrail, etc) with the assumption that I know what the dimensional values will be when assembled. (Even if I didn't, I would modify a part and add configurations as needed.) For instance, if I needed six 3 ft posts and 4 3 1/2 ft posts, I would use configurations in a single model and then select the needed configuration at assembly time.

JST

Alibre Super User
Stair railings are just a problem. My customers always seem to want odd dimensions and attachments, different in different places.

The key issue I have found is to have the fewest separate parts to begin with. Then you re-use parts in similar places, so only one may need to be changed. One post for this angle of stair, so when the hole through changes, one change does all those posts.

Using subassemblies etc, all the standard tricks.