What's new

Custom shortcut keyboard using relegendable keys

Stu3d

I have been using a 2d cad software for 30+ years, it uses 2 letter keyboard shortcuts for everything which makes it incredibly fast to use.
Inspired by ExMachina and Bolsover I decided to create a shortcut keyboard that would kind of emulate that. Thanks to Max for providing the icons.

Function keys at the top are constraints, next two rows are 2d sketch followed by part features with a couple of assembly keys at the end. Some other useful keys on the right.
The small icons on the front of the keys require Shift.
I have tried to keep the keys in the same order as on the screen where possible whilst using the most useful to me.
No view keys as I only move what's on screen with the mouse, I don't use the cube either.
I am not an RGB fan but enabled some for this purpose, especially as I accidentally bought a keyboard with an American Enter key which I don't get on with so illuminated it red so i don't miss it.
It is still a work in progress. I hope the proposed UI changes don't mean I have to start again.
Would a keyboard like this be permissable under TooTallToby rules? Just curious, I don't intend competing as I am rubbish. I am hoping this keyboard will improve my workflow!

Alibre keyboard.jpg

I originally started out with a much more complicated layout using Shift and Ctrl, it included sheet metal, surfaces, splines and lots more with smaller icons.
The idea was to use Sticky Keys which is built in to Windows so I wouldn't have to be a contortionist, no need to hold down Shift or Ctrl, just tap them which would emulate 2 letter commands.
It looked too busy and I ran in to a few problems. eg, I was over ambitious, I discovered some of my shortcut keys couldn't be enabled in Alibre! You can't set a shortcut to Ctrl-R or Ctrl-[ etc. F1 is bound to Help.

I bought a 100% mechanical keyboard to make sure I could replace any keys I wanted. It has 10 macro keys which may be useful at some point.