What's new

Mechanical Constraints - Screw

DBC

Am I correct in assuming that Alibre Expert 2018 does not have any mechanical constraints such as Screw, Gear, Cam, Slot, Rack and Pinion. At this point I am particularly interested in a screw constraint.

Am I correct in assuming that Alibre Expert 2018 does not have any mechanical constraints such as Screw, Gear, Cam, Slot, Rack and Pinion. At this point I am particularly interested in a screw constraint.
DBC -- If you meant that "as a "screw" rotates a "related Part "displaces," then the answer is no Alibre Design lacks such a Constraint (something about which I have been asking for since 2009).

Attachments

• Constraint System Improvements 01 20150308A.pdf
    114.2 KB · Views: 6

JST

Alibre Super User
Specifically, you COULD do that, except that the program will not accept the flank of the thread as a valid surface to use in an alignment. Otherwise you could potentially use a tangent alignment of the screw flank to some suitable object.

A specific "screw alignment" would not be needed if that contiguous surface was accepted.

Likewise, one cannot make a surface out of several elements, there is no "stitch surface" capability, so for instance, you cannot make a "U" shaped surface out of a half cylinder and two planar parts.

idslk

Alibre Super User
At this point I am particularly interested in a screw constraint.
What you want to do? Do you want to take your mouse and screw a screw manually into your CAD-model;)
Or do you want to make an animation with moving bottles?
Regards
Stefan

A screw is just a wedge wrapped around an axis. Perhaps there is something that can be done with that in mind.