What's new

New to Alibre, Some Qs

kcoffield

Hi all, first post here. Recently purchased Alibre Pro v25. I have some previous experience with mostly 2D work, but new to Alibre as will become quite obvious shortly.

I’ve taken in all the sketching and most of the modeling tutorials. I have some questions. Attached is a sketch of an intake manifold flange. The rounded rectangular features are the port windows and wall thickness for the transitions to the runners. The points are the locations of the mounting bosses. There will eventually be a right and left flange as they are not completely symmetric.

I built the geometry by using a centered square with fillets applied to the corners. I constructed one of the port windows with the flanges scallops about the origin then copied it to the other three positions. I tried to move the figures and could not. After a couple hours of experimentation, I gathered the figures about the origin seemed to be constrained about the origin although I saw no such constraint. I searched the forum and found a thread that said it was possibly an implied constraint.

Q1: How do I see an implied constraint? Or do I just never build something around the origin that I intend to move? I solved it by working from the copies and deleting the original built about the origin.

The design exporer only displays points I've created (and sketches?) but doesnt contain sketch construction history features like rectangles, copying them, etc.

Q2: I take sketch details other than points are not cpatured in the design explorer? Correct?

Somehow, apparently when I saved the file, I lost all the sketch construction geometry and it became just a joined sketch, whereas before, I could see the nodes where all the lines, fillets, and tangencies occurred.