What's new

2D drawing using an existing assembly as a guide

Hi,

I'm very new to Alibre. If I want to make a 2d drawing using an externally created assembly as a guide, what are my options? Ideally, I would be able to import the assembly, design around it, and then delete it, leaving only the part. I know that it's possible to use assembly boolean blanks and tools to achieve some of it, but it only gets me partway there. Unless I'm mistaken:

- one can't import an assembly into a part.
- one can only use 2d drawing in an assembly while editing an object, so the object would have to be created outside of the assembly without the reference assembly as a guide.
- once an edited object is created in an assembly, even if I delete the reference assembly, I can't redefine the remainder as a part.

I would greatly appreciate any corrections to my current understanding and any insights you may have about how I can accomplish the aforementioned task.

Thanks in advance,
Bruce

DavidJ

Administrator
Staff member
You can open the assembly, insert a New Part and design that in the context of the assembly. After designing the part, save the assembly. There will now be a part file containing the new part - you can derive 2D drawing from that part file.

I'm a bit puzzled by you mention of 2D drawing in this context. Not sure exactly what you want to do.

Thanks for responding so quickly, David.