What's new

Watching and Performing Actions on Bolts!

silver2row

Hello,

As some of you may know, I am new to the idea of drawing mechanical instances. I have been following along in videos and learning Alibre Atom3D (my current subscription) by way of tutorials recently to learn more.

So, in the bolt video, https://www.alibre.com/atom3d-training/ , I see there is not a set of threads...

Has anyone mastered this portion of the builds without resorting to https://www.traceparts.com/en or another building appliance from different sites online.

I watched the video. I will perform the actions soon. If anyone knows of some steps to take to create threaded components, I would be most pleased!

Seth

P.S. Thank you for your consideration...

HaroldL

Alibre Super User
Is this outdated?
No, it explains the basis of creating a helical cut feature.
If you change the circle to a triangle and set the pitch to that of the screw you want to create then you'll have a threaded feature. Although there will necessarily need to be some tweaking of the parameters to fully define the thread.
The crib sheet that Joseph used and demoed in his Quick and Easy video was something I put in the Resources some time ago to help users define the threads they were creating. @Ex Machina takes it to another level with the equation editor. Either method will get you a threaded feature.

Stu3d

@Stu3d ,

You rule! Thank you so much.

Seth
Glad I could point you in the right direction but it's the contributors who produce the videos that rule, I am a 2d architect of decades who has only relatively recently stepped in to the 3rd dimension. I used Generic Cadd 3d in the 80's but only for some presentation, now we have 3d printers the skys the limit :cool:
I guess you may be familiar with these but I will list some Youtube places of interest in case others read this who are new to Alibre.

The obvious https://www.youtube.com/@AlibreLLC/videos