What's new

Editing a Part in an Assembly

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to change the length of a part in my assembly. I would like to steer clear of configurations, because I need the part to be able to be any length. Currently I have the length linked to a global parameter, which I am able to change in a script, but the length will not change unless I click "update design" in the global parameters file. Having to click the global parameters file basically negates what I'm trying to do with the script anyway, so I am looking for a way around this. I havet thought of 3 options which I am not able to find ways to do:
  1. Update the global parameters file with a line or two of code
  2. Edit the part in a separate window, close the window, and refresh the assembly
  3. Edit the part's extrusion value directly in the assembly
Number 3 seems like it would work the best, but I am not a programmer and I have not found any example code online on how to do any of these 3 options. Does anyone have a shortcut they have used to get around this problem in the past?

I'm trying to change the length of a part in my assembly. I would like to steer clear of configurations, because I need the part to be able to be any length. Currently I have the length linked to a global parameter, which I am able to change in a script, but the length will not change unless I click "update design" in the global parameters file. Having to click the global parameters file basically negates what I'm trying to do with the script anyway, so I am looking for a way around this. I havet thought of 3 options which I am not able to find ways to do:
Hi Brandon -- But how do you distinguish between (say) "Length 50mm," "Length 75mm," and "Length 100mm" in different applications? It may begin with (say) a "specific extrusion," but each different Length is a different Part that requires it's own Identity in terms of "Process Management," correct? -- Lew